Who is eligible to apply for a CCW license?In order to obtain a CCW license, the applicant must:
• Be 21 years of age or older.• Be a Wisconsin resident.
• Not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law.
• Not have been ordered as a condition of bail or release in a criminal case from possessing a dangerous weapon.
• Have provided proof of the firearms training required for a license.
(see Training Requirement below) Wis. Stat. § 175.60(3)(a) through (g).
Who cannot get a CCW license?A person under 21 years of age. Wis. Stat. § 175.60(3)(a). A person who is prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law. Wis. Stat. §175.60(3)(b) and (c).
Wis. Stat. § 175.60(3)(d) and (e). A person who is not a Wisconsin resident. Wis. Stat. § 175.60(3)(f). Wis. Stat. § 175.60(3)(g). •• A person who has been ordered as a condition of bail or release in a criminal case from possessing a dangerous weapon.
Some States allow non-residents to aquire and exercise their right to carry... how about resiprocity then:
Does a Wisconsin license allow me to carry concealed in another state?Maybe. Whether another state will recognize a Wisconsin CCW license is governed by the law of the other state. If the statutes of another state recognize Wisconsin CCW licenses, then a Wisconsin CCW license holder may carry in that state. In addition, DOJ "may enter into reciprocity agreements with other states as to matters relating to licenses or other authorization to carry concealed weapons." CCW FAQ 08/02/11 - 11 - Wis. Stat. § 175.60(18). If such agreements are created, then a Wisconsin CCW licensee holder may carry in that state. Until and unless that occurs, a Wisconsin CCW licensee should contact the particular state where they wish to carry concealed for information on the laws of that state.
I don't know about you but I sure love it when official documents are released with wish-washy words like 'maybe' in it; I find it inspires confidence. *heavy sarcasm*
What is required to apply for a license?All of the following:
1. A completed application form. Wis. Stat. § 175.60(7)(a). Wis. Stat. § 175.60(7)(b). Wis. Stat. § 175.60(7)(c). Wis. Stat. § 175.60(7)(d) Wis. Stat. § 175.60(7)(e).2. A statement that the information provided in the application and any document submitted with the application is true and complete to the best of the applicant’s knowledge.
3. A license fee in an amount to be determined by DOJ, but not to exceed $37.
4. A fee for a background check. Currently, that fee is $13.
5. Proof of training.
Proof of training... hmmm what kind of training?
What kind of training is required to get a license?In an application for a license, an individual must include proof of having received firearm training. The proof of training requirement may be met by any of the following: A copy of a document, or an affidavit from an instructor or organization that conducted the course or program, that indicates that the individual completed any of the following (but see note below):
the hunter education program established by the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) or a substantially similar program that is established by another state, country, or province and that is recognized by DNR. municipality of this state or of another state unless the license has been revoked for cause. Wis. Stat. § 175.60(4)(a). IMPORTANT NOTE: DOJ is currently in the rule-making process and is evaluating what information will be required on the certificate to substantiate proof of training. We will not have specifics until the rule-making process is complete.
•A firearms safety or training course that is conducted by a national or state organization that certifies firearms instructors.
•A firearms safety or training course that is available to the public and is offered by a law enforcement agency
•A firearms safety or training course that is taught by an instructor who is certified by a national or state organization that certifies firearms instructors or by an instructor certified by DOJ, and that is available to the public and offered by any of the following: a technical college, a college or university, a private or public institution or organization, or a firearms training school.
•A firearms safety or training course that is offered to law enforcement officers or to owners and employees of licensed private detective and security agencies.
•A firearms safety or training course that is conducted by a firearms instructor who is certified by a national or state organization that certifies firearms instructors or who is certified by DOJ.
Documentation that the individual completed military, law enforcement, or security training that gave the individual experience with firearms that is substantially equivalent to a course or program described above.
A current or expired license, or a photocopy of a current or expired license, that the individual holds or has held that indicates that the individual is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state or in another state or in a county or
Documentation of completion of small arms training while serving in the U.S. armed forces as demonstrated by an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions or a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and certification
Some other tidbits:
- Law goes into effect November 1, 2011
- You can apply for a permit on November 1, 2011 (applications will be avilible on the Wisconsin Dept. of Justice website)
- Permit will be good for five years
Read it for yourself: WISCONSIN’S NEW CARRYING CONCEALED WEAPON LAW